Be a Member of this BLOG

Apr 5, 2011


“The good artist believes that nobody is good enough to give him advice. He has supreme vanity. No matter how much he admires the old writer, he wants to beat him." Faulkner’s interview with The Paris Review. William Faulkner (1897-1962), started literary movement Modernism, is one of the most important US writers of novels and short stories in the 20th century, who wrote about people in the imaginary Yoknapatawpha County in the state of Mississippi.

His novels include The Sound and the Fury (1929), A Fable (1954) and The Reivers (1962)—the last two won the Pulitzer Prize. He also won two National Book Awards, first for his Collected Stories in 1951 and once again for his novel A Fable in 1955. In 1946, Faulkner was one of three finalists for the first Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine Award and came in second to Manly Wade Wellman.

From the early 1920s to the outbreak of WWII, when Faulkner left for Hollywood, he published 13 novels and numerous short stories, the body of work that grounds his reputation and for which he was awarded, at the age of 52, Nobel Prize for Literature for "his powerful and artistically unique contribution to the modern American novel." He donated a portion of his Nobel winnings "to establish a fund to support and encourage new fiction writers," eventually resulting in the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction.

Faulkner made frequent use of "stream of consciousness" in his writing. He is considered one of the most important Southern writers, along with Mark Twain, Robert Warren, Flannery O'Connor, and Tennessee Williams.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...